Opinion

Opinion (313)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Thinking about the whole New England Patriots deflated ball nonsense led me to think about more important things like the city police department's crash-free week that begins Monday.

Thursday, 22 January 2015 22:01

Public Health Matters: Resolve to be healthier

Written by

Let’s face it, how many of us start each New Year with resolutions that sound like this: “I am going to lose 50 lbs. in the next 6 months” or “I am going to run 5 miles a day” or “I am not going to eat any sugar, carbs, or dairy” or even “I am going on an all liquid diet.”

Friday, 16 January 2015 23:34

We cannot keep tearing down

Written by

Now that another icon has been leveled, can we please begin having rational discussions about how to build up rather than tear to the ground?

Thursday, 15 January 2015 15:04

Text Neck: We once walked upright

Written by

We once walked upright and then came Text Neck.

Thursday, 08 January 2015 17:07

We write on

Written by

Even with the Charlie Hebdo murders fresh in our minds we write on as the French satirical newspaper vowed it would do in the wake of the Paris tragedy Wednesday.

Wednesday, 07 January 2015 12:24

Council gets grasp of complex proceedings

Written by

Roanoke Rapids City Council Tuesday night made great strides in showing it understands the complex machinations that go hand-in-hand with the quasi-judicial setting involved with the Villages at Cross Creek conditional use permit.

Wednesday, 31 December 2014 13:27

2014: Beards, swimming pools, movie stars

Written by

For the last couple of weeks of this month I had a beard.

Tuesday, 30 December 2014 21:29

On driving by the intersection

Written by

Driving by the intersection of Tenth Street and Becker Drive, I feel a deep sense of sadness, a lump in my throat.

Saturday, 20 December 2014 15:38

Spare change, meaty issues and Christmas

Written by

This whole column started when I was thinking back to last week and I gave somebody a dollar and all the spare change I had in my car.

Page 1 of 25