Friday, 23 June 2017 10:15

Massey dies after lengthy illness

Longtime local funeral director and country gospel singer Harold Massey died this morning, his attorney confirmed.

The victim of an early morning shooting today is in critical condition, Roanoke Rapids police Chief Chuck Hasty confirmed.

Debris from a demolished house discovered on property in February has resulted in a felony littering count against a Halifax man.

With approval of its upcoming fiscal year budget this evening, Mayor Emery Doughtie sees the possibility of a brighter economic future for the city.

First responders who made initial efforts to locate a boy who drowned in Roanoke Rapids Lake earlier this month were honored by the Roanoke Rapids Police Department during this evening’s city council meeting.

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department reported the following, according to Chief Chuck Hasty:

Halifax County commissioners approved a resolution today which seeks to grant a Virginia-based wood treatment company funds to upfit the former Georgia-Pacific building off West Tenth Street in Roanoke Rapids.

Roanoke Rapids police are still trying to determine who was driving a vehicle in which one person died and one was seriously injured Friday night, Chief Chuck Hasty said.

Monday, 19 June 2017 11:47

Severn man dies in Saturday crash

A Severn man died Saturday night in a single-vehicle crash in Northampton County.

Saturday, 17 June 2017 12:11

One dies in Smith Church Rd. crash

One man died and another was transferred to a trauma unit for further treatment following a crash on Smith Church Road Friday night.

Page 1 of 340

Search

VA Pork Festival

Latest Events

Fri May 19 @ 6:00PM -
Walk for Life
Thu Jun 08 @12:00AM
Fans available at Jo Story
Tue Jun 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Thu Jun 22 @ 6:00PM -
Board of health special meeting
Fri Jun 23 @ 7:00PM -
Christian Concert for Trail Life
Thu Jun 29 @ 6:00PM -
Weldon schools forum
Thu Jul 13 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
Free movie Monday
Tue Jul 25 @ 2:30PM - 04:30PM
Living will clinic

Who's Online

We have 807 guests and no members online

Login Form