Thursday, 23 March 2017 17:00

SBI continues Enfield standoff probe

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation says the primary focus of its investigation into a standoff in Enfield Saturday night is the officer-involved shooting.

“We’re saying the cause of death is still being investigated,” Special Agent in Charge Anthony Jernigan said this afternoon.
Jernigan would not confirm whether there is evidence Willie Bishop, 62, killed himself during the standoff, nor would he confirm there is evidence a shot fired by Enfield police Captain Dreher Bozard killed the Enfield man. “Right now it is still under investigation,” he said of both elements of the case.
Jernigan did confirm what he termed the attempted robbery of a victim inside the post office started the standoff. “We’re trying to document what occurred to determine the actions of Mr. Bishop … We’re trying to determine everyone’s actions.”
The SBI is also waiting on the results of an autopsy before presenting any findings to the district attorney’s office.



Read 3338 times

Comments on SBI continues Enfield standoff probe

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Mon Jan 22 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Jan 23 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Jan 24 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Jan 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Jan 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Jan 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Jan 28 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Jan 29 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Jan 30 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Jan 31 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 1046 guests and no members online

Login Form