Monday, 03 July 2017 15:30

RRPD roundup: Chase; recovered cocaine

Written by 
Rate this item
(3 votes)

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department reported the following matters Saturday, according to Chief Chuck Hasty:

Chase

At approximately 2:30 a.m., Officer J. DeSare conducted a traffic stop on Roanoke Avenue near the intersection of Thirteenth Street.
Drug paraphernalia was observed in the console cup holder. The driver, Matthew Pittman, 26, of Rocky Mount, fled when asked to step out of the vehicle.
A brief pursuit ended on Medlin Street where Pittman was taken into custody.
He was charged with speeding to elude arrest, reckless driving, carrying a concealed weapon, possession of a firearm by a felon, possession of drug paraphernalia, and open container.
He received a $25,000 bond and August 2 court date.
Officer M. Hunsucker assisted.

Collision investigation

At approximately 4:30 p.m., officers A. Green and D. Hundley responded to a collision between a vehicle and moped at the intersection of Jackson and West Eighth streets.
The moped driver, Martavius Javon Clements, 19, of Roanoke Rapids, removed something from his sock and tried to throw it behind him while talking with Hundley, who recovered the item and found it to be narcotics.
Green arrested and charged Clements with possession with intent to sell and deliver cocaine and possession of cocaine. He was also cited for failing to stop for a stop sign and failing to reduce speed to avoid an accident.
He received a $2,000 bond and August 2 court date.

Read 7485 times

Comments on RRPD roundup: Chase; recovered cocaine

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Tue Sep 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Sep 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Sep 28 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Sep 29 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Sep 30 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Oct 01 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Oct 02 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Oct 03 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Oct 04 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Oct 05 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 1015 guests and one member online

Login Form