Monday, 03 July 2017 15:30

RRPD roundup: Chase; recovered cocaine

Written by 
Rate this item
(3 votes)

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department reported the following matters Saturday, according to Chief Chuck Hasty:

Chase

At approximately 2:30 a.m., Officer J. DeSare conducted a traffic stop on Roanoke Avenue near the intersection of Thirteenth Street.
Drug paraphernalia was observed in the console cup holder. The driver, Matthew Pittman, 26, of Rocky Mount, fled when asked to step out of the vehicle.
A brief pursuit ended on Medlin Street where Pittman was taken into custody.
He was charged with speeding to elude arrest, reckless driving, carrying a concealed weapon, possession of a firearm by a felon, possession of drug paraphernalia, and open container.
He received a $25,000 bond and August 2 court date.
Officer M. Hunsucker assisted.

Collision investigation

At approximately 4:30 p.m., officers A. Green and D. Hundley responded to a collision between a vehicle and moped at the intersection of Jackson and West Eighth streets.
The moped driver, Martavius Javon Clements, 19, of Roanoke Rapids, removed something from his sock and tried to throw it behind him while talking with Hundley, who recovered the item and found it to be narcotics.
Green arrested and charged Clements with possession with intent to sell and deliver cocaine and possession of cocaine. He was also cited for failing to stop for a stop sign and failing to reduce speed to avoid an accident.
He received a $2,000 bond and August 2 court date.

Read 7578 times

Comments on RRPD roundup: Chase; recovered cocaine

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Nov 25 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Nov 26 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Nov 27 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Tue Nov 28 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Wed Nov 29 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Thu Nov 30 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Fri Dec 01 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sat Dec 02 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Sun Dec 03 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive
Mon Dec 04 @12:00AM
HCSO Deputy Coat Drive

Who's Online

We have 599 guests and no members online

Login Form