Thursday, 30 November 2017 10:34

Girls wanted in credit card fraud face numerous charges

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Two girls who were wanted for credit card fraud surrendered to Roanoke Rapids police Wednesday and face 16 counts of identity theft and attempted identity theft.

The charges reflect the number of times Brittany Rose Bradley and Morgan Bree Ann Wheeler, both 17, allegedly used or attempted to use a credit card reported stolen at various locations throughout the area, Chief Chuck Hasty said.

It remains unclear how the Roanoke Rapids girls reportedly came into possession of the card, which had last been known secured by its owner at Texas Steakhouse.

A report on the matter last week indicated nearly $400 in charges had been made on the card. That total, according to Hasty, now stands at more than $1,000 in charges which were either made or attempted to be made.

Bradley met with Investigator J. Benthall at 8 a.m. and received a $17,000 bond and December 6 court date, Hasty said in a statement.

Wheeler met with Benthall at 9:30 a.m. and received a $10,000 bond and the same court date as Bradley.

The investigation began on November 17 when the victim discovered their bank card was stolen and transactions that they did not make began showing up.

They were identified through photos released to media last week and within minutes of the posting the department received numerous calls, texts and messages on their identity.

 

 

Read 4630 times Last modified on Thursday, 30 November 2017 12:30

Comments on Girls wanted in credit card fraud face numerous charges

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 29 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 30 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 31 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Aug 01 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Aug 02 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Aug 03 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form