Monday, 18 June 2018 10:46

Sheriff's office seeks man who fled from patrol car

Written by 
Rate this item
(2 votes)
PERT members prepare to look for Brinson. PERT members prepare to look for Brinson. rrspin.com

The Halifax County Sheriff’s Office is looking for a man who escaped from a deputy’s vehicle this morning as he was brought in for booking after fleeing on foot from a checking station in Weldon

Sheriff Wes Tripp said Darrieck Brinson, who is in 30s and was handcuffed with his hands behind him, is not considered to be a threat to the public.

Brinson, who has a court date scheduled on July 23 in district court for driving while license revoked, came up on the  checking station and fled “out of his shoes,” Tripp said.

He was apprehended.

When Deputy Michael Bishop transported him to the jail, the deputy retrieved Brinson’s shoes, and Brinson fled from the vehicle and into the woods behind the jail.

Department of Public Safety Prison Emergency Response Team members were behind the sheriff’s office on Ferrell Lane in Halifax to aid in the search for the man.

Deputies and investigators lined up on the Highway 301 bridge on the outskirts of the county seek attempting to spot him.

Anyone with information is encouraged to call the sheriff’s office at 252-583-8201 or Crimestoppers at 252-583-4444.

Read 8431 times Last modified on Monday, 18 June 2018 15:29

Comments on Sheriff's office seeks man who fled from patrol car

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Thu Jul 19 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 20 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 21 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sun Jul 22 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Mon Jul 23 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Tue Jul 24 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Thu Jul 26 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Fri Jul 27 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 03:00PM
Camp J316

Login Form