News from Roanoke Rapids, Weldon and Halifax County
Wednesday, 09 November 2016 11:19

Charges lodged following chase in city

An afternoon chase in Roanoke Rapids ended with the arrest of a man following a crash in the area of Zoo Road Tuesday.

Wednesday, 09 November 2016 10:15

Vance County man apprehended, charged in 48 chase

A Vance County man who led troopers on a high-speed chase Tuesday on Highway 48 was caught this morning and was being booked on numerous charges.

Tuesday, 08 November 2016 23:42

School tax passes in county

A supplemental tax for Halifax County Schools passed this evening, according to unofficial returns.

Tuesday, 08 November 2016 17:07

Two charged in September larceny

A man was arrested last week and woman today in a September 9 larceny, according to the Halifax County Sheriff’s Office.

Tuesday, 08 November 2016 14:33

Manhunt under way following Highway 48 chase

The state Highway Patrol and other law enforcement continues to look for a man involved in a high-speed chase in the Highway 48-561 area of Brinkleyville.

Tuesday, 08 November 2016 11:35

RRPD begins outreach to Hispanic community

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department has begun an outreach with the area’s Hispanic community.

Monday, 07 November 2016 15:10

RRPD blotter: November 5, 2016

The Roanoke Rapids Police Department reported the following, according to Chief Chuck Hasty:

Halifax County commissioners today approved the refinancing of the department of social services building and Enfield Middle School, going with a bank proposal which offered a 2.35 percent interest rate.

Commissioners Rives Manning and Marcelle Smith draped a black cloth over the chair of their departed colleague, Rachel Hux, and fellow board member Carolyn Johnson called for a moment of silence.

The cause of a fire in the 800 block of Rapids Street Sunday night has not been determined.

Page 6 of 8

Latest Comments

Search

Latest Events

Sat Feb 10 @10:00AM -
Halifax County Genealogical Society
Wed Feb 14 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 15 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Library book sale
Wed Feb 21 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Thu Feb 22 @11:00AM -
HCC Food Tasting
Wed Feb 28 @10:30AM -
Story time on Wednesdays
Tue Mar 06 @ 6:30PM -
Democratic party meeting
Fri Mar 16 @10:00AM - 02:00PM
Weldon PD blood drive
Thu Mar 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:00PM
Clara Hearne pre-K registration
Fri Mar 30 @12:00AM
Artisans, crafters needed for fair

Login Form