RR Spin billboard
Saturday, 17 June 2017 11:17

Barton’s Kelly honored with selection to 2017 NCCSIA All-State Softball Team

Written by  Benny Benton
Rate this item
(0 votes)

WILSON, N.C. – Barton College senior Megan Kelly has been named to the 2017 NCCSIA College Division All-State Softball Team, the organization announced Thursday.

Kelly was selected to the Second Team by members of the North Carolina College Sports Information Association. She is the first Barton softball player to be named all-state by the NCCSIA.

The Plymouth, N.C., resident batted .364 on the season, and ranked second in Conference Carolinas and 16th in NCAA Division II in triples with six. She ranked among the top 10 in the league in slugging percentage (.568) as well after adding team highs in doubles (12) and home runs (3), and also led BC in runs scored (30) and stolen bases (12).

Kelly started all 51 games for the Lady Bulldogs in 2017, and completed her career having played in 177 of 180 possible games for Barton, starting 172 of those contests. She recorded a career average of .335 and on-base percentage of .407, produced 17 triples, scored 110 runs and stole 64 bases in 73 attempts. Kelly also threw out an impressive 18 runners from the outfield over her career, including four this year.

A total of 24 players were named to the two NCCSIA All-State Teams for the College Division (NCAA Division II, III, NAIA) representing institutions throughout North Carolina. Kelly was one of two players representing Conference Carolinas schools.

North Carolina College Sports Information Association 2017 College Division All-State Softball Team

First Team

P: Kayla Robbins, Chowan P: Sydney Vaughn, Salem C: Sarah Kenley, Lenoir-Rhyne IF: Danielle Baccus, Chowan IF: Briana Crumley, Salem IF: Jamie Johnson, UNC Pembroke IF: Sydney Landreth, Lenoir-Rhyne OF: Kayli Blankenship, Guilford OF: Erin Boone, Lenoir-Rhyne OF: Sabrina Moreno, Guilford OF: Naomi Sapp, Wingate UTL: Abbey Walters, UNC Pembroke DP: Destiny Snipes, Winston-Salem State

Second Team

P: Sydney Miller, Lenoir-Rhyne P: Maddy Wetherholt, Greensboro C: Alex Watkins, UNC Pembroke IF: Mackenzie Cates, Lenoir-Rhyne IF: Morgan Hasty, Johnson C. Smith IF: Heather McLean, William Peace IF: Casey Stanek, Mars Hill OF: Kayla Allen, Mount Olive OF: Megan Kelly, Barton UTL: Makayla Carver, Guilford DP: Shelby Helms, Guilford

Read 697 times

Comments on Barton’s Kelly honored with selection to 2017 NCCSIA All-State Softball Team

Latest Comments

Who's Online

We have 932 guests and no members online

Login Form