We Are Improving!

We hope that you'll find our new look appealing and the site easier to navigate than before. Please pardon any 404's that you may see, we're trying to tidy those up!  Should you find yourself on a 404 page please use the search feature in the navigation bar.  

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Roanoke Connect, a broadband service provider and a subsidiary of Roanoke Electric Cooperative, has announced plans to begin building across four new counties by the end of 2022. 

Counties included in the new construction plan are:

Bertie County 

Gates County 

Town of Halifax 

Northampton County 

“As we set the stage for our next phase of growth at Roanoke Connect, we look forward to bringing nothing but the best to our member-owners in these counties,” said Marshall Cherry, president and CEO of Roanoke Electric Cooperative. “We’re excited to continue leading the way in fiber connectivity.” 

Each new construction includes Fiber to the Home technology, commonly known as fiber internet. These broadband connections can reach speeds up to 940Mbps and use a fiber-optic cable, which can send data as fast as about 70 percent of the speed of light. 

In addition, fiber-optic cables are not as susceptible to severe weather conditions as other types of traditional cables, which helps minimize outages and resists electrical interference effectively.

"We’re thrilled to put shovels in the ground and offer our incredible services to even more of our North Carolina communities,” said Bo Coughlin, COO of Roanoke Connect. “Easy access to broadband internet is an essential part of our lives, and we could not be more excited to extend this convenience to residents and businesses.”

Roanoke Connect offers a variety of internet speed options in order to best serve the needs and budgets of local residents. The provider is committed to positioning the community for success when it comes to reliable connectivity for work, school and beyond.

Learn more about Roanoke Connect and see if you’re eligible for service by following this link