Opinion

Opinion (413)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Friday, 29 September 2017 07:34

A veteran's view: The flag, free speech and respect

Written by

I was recently asked my opinion about individuals “taking a knee” during the National Anthem.  

Friday, 22 September 2017 10:31

Remember our Gold Star mothers

Written by

National Gold Star Mother’s Day, also known as National Gold Star Mother’s and Family’s Day, is observed annually on the last Sunday in September.

Saturday, 09 September 2017 16:18

Photos from 17 years of life

Written by

Seventeen years of life flashed through the slideshow before her funeral.

Thursday, 17 August 2017 12:12

Letter from RRGSD Superintendent Dain Butler

Written by

The following letter from Roanoke Rapids Graded School District Superintendent Dain Butler is going out to parents:

Wednesday, 16 August 2017 13:05

Highway 158 masterplan deserves consideration

Written by

We realize there is probably bitterness today, a lingering bad taste from months of debate on the Chaloner pool debacle.

Friday, 16 June 2017 08:04

The movie had a plot

Written by

There was a story we did nearly a year ago — Silent movie without a plot — which described in detail a warehouse used in Rocky Mount.

Friday, 26 May 2017 06:13

Operation Rockfish was always about intent

Written by

With the only person in the Operation Rockfish police corruption case to not take a plea found guilty earlier this week, it will be soon now when the other 14 wise enough to take a plea will be sentenced.

From your keyboard, stained orange from the Cheetos and Doritos you have consumed in your purple haze state of bliss, the bong still smoking, you decide now is the perfect time to deride the po-lice.

Obviously, there was a pragmatic, cold, number-crunching side which led to the unanimous approval of Chaloner pool repairs Tuesday night.

Friday, 24 February 2017 11:51

Talkin' fake news blues

Written by

Everybody’s talkin’ about fake news this and fake news that.

Wednesday, 08 February 2017 13:55

New hunting proposals ludicrous

Written by

I wish to address the new proposed hunting regulations for Halifax County.

Wednesday, 08 February 2017 12:39

Pride in Mira's DWY accomplishments

Written by

The last weekend in January was a great one for our local Distinguished Young Women Program.

Page 1 of 26

Latest Comments

Search

Who's Online

We have 787 guests and no members online

Login Form