Due to increased fire risk, the North Carolina Forest Service has issued a ban on all open burning and has canceled all burning permits statewide effective November 29 until further notice.
Along with the state burning ban, Halifax County Fire Marshal Roland Tellier has enacted a burn ban in Halifax County. “There will be no outside burning anywhere in the county. Anyone caught burning, will be required to extinguish their fire, or have it extinguished by the local fire department,” said Tellier. “There may also be fines for anyone not adhering to this ban. If anyone has any questions, please feel free to contact this office.”
Under North Carolina law, the ban prohibits all open burning in the affected counties, regardless of whether a permit was previously issued. The issuance of any new permits has also been suspended until the ban is lifted.
Anyone violating the burn ban faces a $100 fine plus $183 court costs.
Any person responsible for setting a fire may be liable for any expenses related to extinguishing the fire.
Local fire departments and law enforcement officers are assisting the Forest Service in enforcing the burn ban.
The Forest Service will continue to monitor conditions.
Residents with questions regarding a specific county can contact their Forest Service county ranger or their county fire marshal's office.
Tellier may be reached by calling the Halifax County Planning & Development Department at 252-583-1082.