We Are Improving!

We hope that you'll find our new look appealing and the site easier to navigate than before. Please pardon any 404's that you may see, we're trying to tidy those up!  Should you find yourself on a 404 page please use the search feature in the navigation bar.  

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

For the third year, Halifax Community College will hold its Progressive Community Awards ceremony.  

Twelve community partners and 10 employees from HCC will be bestowed with the Community Bridge Builder Award on March 31 at 6 p.m. during a virtual ceremony. 

This year’s program will highlight bridge builders in the community who worked to reduce and eliminate COVID-19 in Halifax and Northampton counties. 

The partners were chosen because they partnered with the health departments of Halifax and Northampton counties to provide COVID-19 screening, vaccination and testing services, and other support.  

HCC President Michael Elam also chose employees at the college who played a major role in Halifax County’s COVID-19 Vaccine Clinic being held at HCC.  

The event will begin at 6 p.m.  

Those wishing to attend the virtual event may register at this link 

After registering, registrants will receive a link to view the live broadcast of the event. 

This year’s establishments receiving the Community Bridge Builder awards include: 

Community Care of North Carolina-Community Community Tracing Collaborative 

DrugCo Pharmacy 

Futrell Pharmacy  

Halifax County Emergency Management Services 

Halifax County Government 

Halifax County Sheriff's Office

North Carolina National Guard 

Northampton County Government 

Northampton Family Practice 

Rural Health Group 

Vidant North Hospital 

Woodland Primary Care Clinic 

This year’s individual Community Bridge Builder honorees include: 

Anthony Simmons 

Brandon Davis 

Brenda Burnette 

Joseph Curley  

Kimberly Mack  

Lieutenant Emmett Smith 

Marcella Cooper 

Reginald Byrd 

Tyrone Parker 

Winifred Bowens 

 “We are grateful to our honorees for their sacrifices and service to the community’s wellbeing,” said Elam.