We Are Improving!

We hope that you'll find our new look appealing and the site easier to navigate than before. Please pardon any 404's that you may see, we're trying to tidy those up!  Should you find yourself on a 404 page please use the search feature in the navigation bar.  

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Halifax Community College held the summer 2023 Practical Nursing Pinning Ceremony to honor 13 graduates who completed the PN program. 

The Practical Nursing Pinning Ceremony is a long-standing tradition in which students who have completed their nursing program are honored and celebrated by their peers, families, faculty, and members of the healthcare community. 

“It is a symbolic rite of passage that marks the transition from student nurse to fully-fledged professional ready to make a difference in the lives of countless patients,” the college said. 

Each graduate was presented with a Halifax Community College School of Nursing pin as a token of recognition during the ceremony.

Two graduates were awarded special honors during the ceremony. 

Brandi Weatherly earned the 2023 Patriot Award for Clinical Excellence, and Takira Newsome earned the NC Community Colleges 2023 Academic Excellence Award.

Charlotte Ferguson, residency/student services coordinator, delivered the keynote address and encouraged graduates to persevere in the face of adversity and to treat patients with dignity and respect.

"This pinning ceremony is a moment of enormous pride for HCC as we see our students transition into caring and skilled nursing professionals," said Kelly Eller, program director of nursing and school chair of health sciences. “Our graduates have gained the necessary skills, knowledge, and practical experience to deliver exceptional patient care and to be valued members of the healthcare field, thanks to the experienced direction of our distinguished faculty.”

The graduates are:

Jasmine Brinkley                     

Jennifer Lynch

Deloris Edwards                     

Ruseline Manyanga

Kadeshia Fleming                   

Quanekia Newsome

Erica Hernandez-Nolascco      

Takira Newsome

Brittany Johnson                      

Tiffany Taylor

Winter Jones                                

Brandi Weatherly

Christina Winstead